Fresh Panda Start

I am lucky enough to have found a pretty sweet studio space for minimal rent that is close to home.  The space is one of 8 dedicated to emerging artists and recent graduates and while it’s relatively simple, I’m pretty happy to have found something that meets my needs and is affordable.  It’s concrete floors and unfinished walls don’t give off a hugely creative vibe, but I’ve hung a huge satiny curtain over one concrete wall and cosied the place up with a rug on the floor. There are plans in my mind to cute-ify the space but at the moment it’s pretty good as is.Studio

My mother’s brother, who dislikes being called my uncle is pretty cool. He constructed me a trolley with wheels and a glass top which is the ideal palette.

Painting trolley

I’ve got a vintage chair in there and I even managed to score a good deal on a fridge.  I can’t paint without hot drinks, and I can’t have hot drinks without cold milk.  A beer or two in an artist’s studio never goes astray either.

Having been in the space now for around 2 months I can’t say I’ve been nearly as productive as I’d hoped, but I have no deadlines so I’m taking my time to make things that I actually like.  No longer being held accountable by tutors for my work has given me freedom to paint whatever I like. So I painted some pandas. Why not?

Panda

2 Comments

Filed under My art

2 responses to “Fresh Panda Start

  1. man you should have painted this at uni too lmao.. its my favorite piece from you to date lolz, but yeah without the pressure you feel free to make what you actually want to without thinking too much about it aye lolz .. keep it up!

  2. Pingback: Slow and not so steady « Art/Obsessive

Leave a Reply

